Home > health issues with cats > “Is Your Cat Urinating in Your House? Something to Think About!”

“Is Your Cat Urinating in Your House? Something to Think About!”

February 1, 2011

Dear Terry,

I got your information from a local vet office and hoping you could offer advice or help me. A little background on my situation…I have always loved cats. Growing up my family always had cats in our household and we loved them dearly.  As a young adult, I had two male cats that I loved with all my heart…fast forward to 2002 – my mom passed away from cancer and left her 3 cats to be cared for by me, which I gladly did. Unfortunately, I lost my two cats to illness. So at the time I just had my mom’s cats.

Within the last few years one female cat has been urinating in the hallway outside my son’s bedroom, but only at night. It started after an incident with an automatic litter pan we purchased. I have tried everything I can think of to prevent her from doing this. I have 4 litter pans for the cats, I clean the litter all the time, I’ve used Feli-way, I’ve had the carpets cleaned, I’ve put food there, etc.  Now I’ve just resorted to putting boxes in the spots she urinates. However, just recently I’ve noticed she is urinating in other spots down the hall. I’m at my wits end.

So basically, I need some advice on what my options are. Thank you in advance for your help.

Sincerely,

Bonnie Young

Dear Bonnie,

Don’t give up on this kitty yet! There are still many things to try, but the first thing you must do, which folks don’t realize, is TAKE HER TO THE VET! It always seems so obvious that is it “behavioral”, but 99% of the time it isn’t! This kitty could very likely have an urinary tract infection or crystals in her urine or a blockage…all of which can be very dangerous. A simple urinalysis can tell if she is clear or needs an antibiotic.

YES, it always appears behavioral because cats seem to urinate due to something upsetting them or something has upset them in the past…but what actually happens is that the upsetting “thing” has stressed them and from the stress they have developed a urinary tract infection!

Do you have a regular vet? Get an appointment and let me know after that what he says…then we can go from there.

Terry

Dear Terry,

Thank you for your advice. As it turns out she DOES have an UTI and is in the beginning stages of developing kidney stones. The vet has started her on a round of antibiotics and has put her on a new urinary health cat food. Hopefully this resolves the issue. I hate thinking we may have taken drastic measures, after all the vet said she is 88 years old in cats years. It would be nice for her to live the remainder of her life in comfort and familiar environment.

Thank you again for your help and advice. I will keep you up to date with the developments.

Regards,

Bonnie Young

  1. February 1, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Perfect info! I have already been searching for something such as this for a long time now. Thank you!

  2. February 1, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    So right, Terry! I’d like to add that if a cat is trying to urinate but nothing is coming out, that is a urinary tract blockage and is a serious emergency that needs immediate attention…not later, not tomorrow…right now. As you know, one of my kitties, Odie, suffered a total blockage and I had to rush him to the animal emergency room at 4 a.m. Fortunately he did’t suffer any permanent damage, which can occur pretty quickly when a cat is blocked. Odie has idiopathic cystitis which means there is no infection, no crystals…he just stresses out and his bladder becomes inflamed; he then has trouble urinating and can potentially become blocked again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
