Home > cat rescue > Updates from Terry!

Updates from Terry!

June 21, 2011
Interesting RESCUE night last night..…..another VERY late night as FURR phone never stops ringing!  I got a late night call from my friend Mari Christensen saying that another big animal-loving friend, Cathy Arndt, needed help!  SO, after another long day of kitty stuff, took off late to the Ballantyne area to help rescue some BABY DUCKS!  Yes, Cathy Arndt was animal sitting @ the Post Ballantyne Apartment Homes, which I know well since we have a rescued colony of cats out there, and she saw a mother duck going nuts over the top of a drain grate in the middle of a pond!  Cathy waded out there into the pond and looked down into hole below the grate to see 4 tiny baby ducks stuck in there!  They had fallen in and could not get out!  Mama duck was going crazy……..calling them, squawking and fluttering around!
Cathy tried to get help from everywhere, including the apartment complex (which turned her down), passerbys (which turned her down) and animal control……where she left a message!  When her friend Mari Christensen called me to help, I jumped into my SUV and headed out there with my gloves, cat-catching net and really did not know if I had a plan?
Luckily, when I got there, Char/Mech animal Control had actually responded to the call (thank goodness) and a very “beautiful” hunk of a rescue fellow stripped down to his skivvies (ok……he still had on his pants…….but not much else after shirt, gun, belt, bullet-proof vest, socks & shoes came off………………had you going for a minutes though!)  and he waded into the pond with Cathy and me and helped remove the grate!  Hooray!  The baby ducklings were scooped out with the net and off they swam to meet mama (after a few pics first)!!!  It was great!
Thank you Cathy Ardnt for caring enough to pursue help and not give up on these babies!  Cathy has since gotten the grate covered with a wire mesh so that the babies cannot fall back into the hole again!
Another FURR rescue story (even if it is not cats this time!)
Terry
Categories: cat rescue
  1. Debbie
    June 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Wow! He is delicious!!! Could I fit in the grate? I would even quack like a duck…

    Great job – I’m sure mama duck gave those baby’s the what-for after the panic was over.

    • June 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      I know – what a hunk. I was asleep when this happened and missed out on seeing him. Bummer. Just glad
      the ducks are safe.

  2. June 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    This was a great story!! I wish there were more animal lovers like these people in the world!!!

  3. Richard Morgan
    June 22, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Another very good reason why I love FURR. Thanks! Richard

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
